Tragically Hip – Day For Night (1994)

Any Canadian worth his or her salt is pretty damn sad right now. Canada’s indie rock Leonard Cohen, musician/poet/artist/writer Gord Downie is battling terminal fucking brain cancer. The Hip are now, of course, going on tour.

The album above, Day For Night, was my intro to the Hip. When I was a kid, I delivered flyers in my neighbourhood, carrying along this record in my Discman. I must’ve listened to it a thousand times that summer.

Thoughts are with Downie, his family, his band and fans around the world. Shiiiit man, terrible, terrible news.

Leave a Reply

